A fridge dump

Standard

IMG_0442

If you read my last post, you know that I was tight on time this weekend due to an awesome girls’ weekend with my SIL.  We went shopping, got pedicures, went for long walks around my lake, visited a peach farm to view their peach blossoms and feed the deer, watched movies (I highly recommend Inside Out and Martian :)) and cooked some amazing meals!

The drawback to such a fun weekend is having very little time or desire to meal plan, grocery shop and cook.  So, I didn’t…meal plan and grocery shop, that it.  Instead, I took a look at what I had in my fridge and freezer and threw it together to make an impromptu, quick and easy set of meals for the week.  And they came out great, if I do say so myself!

In my last post, I shared my chorizo stuffed acorn squash recipe that I plan to eat for breakfast this week.  Below is what I’ll be eating for lunch all week.

I found chicken tenders in my freezer, asparagus in my veggie drawer, half a jar of Arrabiata sauce and a 1/4 can of sliced olives on the top shelf of my fridge, and some feta cheese.    I also had quinoa leftover from my acorn squash recipe, so I figured I’d use that too.  Seeing that, I knew I could put together a tasty, pretty and healthy meal for myself.

Ingredients:
1.5 lbs chicken tenders
1 bunch asparagus
1/4 small can sliced olives
1c cooked quinoa
1/2 jar Trader Joe’s Arrabiata sauce
1/2c crumbled sheep’s milk feta
1.5T Italian seasoning
1/2t garlic powder
black pepper, salt, and crushed red pepper to taste

Directions:
Heat skillet on medium heat
Spray chicken tenders with olive oil spray and sprinkle with Italian seasoning, salt, pepper, garlic and crushed red pepper
Place chicken in skillet and let brown before flipping
Chop off bottom 1/3 of asparagus and toss in the trash.  Then cut the remaining asparagus into thirds.  Place in the pan with the chicken, add any additional seasoning you’d like and cover for 5 minutes.
When the asparagus looked bright green and the chicken seems to be about 3/4 cooked, add sliced olives, quinoa, sauce and feta and let simmer for another 3-4 minutes before turning off heat and letting it sit and simmer on the hot burner for another few minutes until everything looks cooked through.  Viola!

Although I haven’t tasted yet, it looks delicious and I can’t wait to try it!

Leave a Reply

